Can I Get Certified?

Are you eligible? If you are a member of one or more of the groups below, you can get certified and leverage the many benefits it can offer.

• Minority
• Woman
• Service-Disabled Veteran
• Disabled

Types of Certifications

Public and private sector certification programs help businesses expand and grow in order to benefit their community.


Most U.S. states — and some territories and cities — have special certification programs for business owners within certain minority groups. Because these business certification programs operate at the state or local level, program titles, eligibility requirements, and application procedures vary by state.


Many corporate organizations request to work with MWBE-certified companies that are actively submitting bids and proposals. These companies have established specific targets and budget goals to spend with certified business partners, or have supplier diversity programs to promote opportunities for diverse suppliers.


Minority and Women-Owned Business Enterprise (M/W/SDVBE)

M/W/SDVBE programs expand opportunities for minority, women, and service-disabled veteran entrepreneurs to access government contracts and grow their businesses.

Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE)

DBE certification by the U.S. Department of Transportation through state transportation authorities for minorities or women-owned businesses, or other socially and economically disadvantaged individuals such as persons with disabilities.

8(a) or WOSB

8(a) Business Development Program administered by the Small Business Administration (SBA) for small businesses owned by minorities or women who are socially and economically disadvantaged individuals or as a Women-owned Small Business – WOSB certification.

Private Sector

National Minority Supplier Diversity Council (NMSDC)

Minority Business Enterprise Certification with the NMSDC, a private third-party that certifies minority-owned businesses on behalf of U.S. corporations or MBE certification through city, county or state programs.

Women Business Enterprise National Council (WBENC)

Women Business Enterprise Certification with WBENC, a private third-party that certifies women-owned businesses on behalf of U.S. corporations or WBE certification through city, county or state programs. National Veteran Business Development Council (NVBDC) The NVBDC is the nation’s leading third party authority for certification of veteran owned businesses of all sizes and the corporations wanting to engage them.

Disability Inclusion (DISABILITY:IN)

Disability:IN is the leading nonprofit resource for business disability inclusion worldwide, expanding opportunities for people with disabilities across enterprises.

National LGBT Chamber of Commerce (NGLCC)

The NGLCC is the business voice of the LGBT community, the largest advocacy organization dedicated to expanding economic opportunities and advancements for LGBT people, and the exclusive certifying body for LGBT-owned businesses